Soapin and Stitchin

January 15, 2007 at 12:14 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Here are pics of what I’m currently working on:

Mermaids of the Deep Blue

Believe

Just Nan Garden Maze

I left the MODB as a thumbnail because I couldn’t get a properly lighted pic and yes, I know that it’s not on a handdyed! I want to pull in some color with mats (hopefully by Jill Rensel) and didn’t want the business of a handpaint and possible clashing.

The Just Nan Garden Maze, though small, seems to be taking forever because of the color changes. I was able to get the limited frame for this piece though so it will be gorgeous when completed.

I saw the “Believe” on one of the stitching boards and just had to have it! Frosty Blues, which are my fav color, along with the saying and the wintry setting, just struck a chord in me. I purchased the frame and triple mat from Stoney Creek also, so I’ll be framing this one myself.

On the knitting front, I’m working on a pair of socks.  Pics will come when completed.  I’m really excited about this pair done in Cherry Tree Hill sock yarn.  I also have some pillow tops that I’m working on done in Entrelac, a wonderful technique.  And a shawl done in my own handspun.  I’ll post piccies of those at a later time.

 On the soaping front, I realized that I’m becoming dreadfully low on stock.  I usually have 100 bars or so in stock that we use for our own use and for gifts.  Hubby’s boss just loves the soap and told him that he has a job as long as we keep him stocked, lol.  Anyway, that 100 bars is significantly diminished so I had to break out the soap pot.  Batches made recently include Lavender/Peppermint, Peach Mango, and Oatmeal, Milk, and Honey.  The OMH was made with goat’s milk.  I purchased some tallow from KB on one of my soaping lists and tried buffalo tallow for the first time.  I used it in the OMH and am anxious for it to cure (six weeks) so that I can try it.  I revised my favorite recipe to include tallow (beef, deer, or buffalo), coconut oil, lard, olive oil, cocoa butter, shea butter, and castor.  I know a lot of soapers that love tallow, and a lot who won’t use it at all.  I find tallow bars to be creamier, harder, and much longer lasting than a veg bar and I don’t ever soap without it.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it, lol.

Took one of my floating holidays from work today and I’m off tomorrow because of an eye dr. appt.  I was up till 3 AM watching Memoirs of a Geisha on TV.  Second time seeing this movie and just love it.  Might read the book some day.  Anyway, hope I’m not up till 3 tonight because I’ll really be throwing the sleep schedule off and will be impossible to wake on on Wednesday for work.  Man, I can’t wait to retire and throw the clock out the window!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

