Just how crafty am I?

February 6, 2007 at 6:27 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I was thinking today about all of the crafts that I’ve done over the years and how much I treasure everything that I’ve done and learned.  When I get interested in learning a new craft I totally immerse myself in the learning experience.   Even been known to skip work while on my mission to learn, lol!!   I do get obsessed.   Research at the library, visit stores, surf the net – all for hours and hours at a time.  Here are the crafts that I’ve done over the years, some very unique and all exceptionally satisfying: pierced paper lampshades, scherenschnitte (german paper cutting with teeny tiny scissors), ceramics (who hasn’t done this one?), cake decorating, knitting, crocheting, stained glass, soapmaking, fused glass jewelry, glass slumping in the kiln, porcelain doll making, mohair teddy bear design, heirloom sewing, smocking, wool rug hooking, spinning, and I used to own a business designing and producing silicone molds for soap and candles.  When I did porcelain dolls, I poured and fired my own pieces and owned three kilns.  I worked for awhile for Beth Cameron, a renowned sculpture artist from Oakmont, Pa., cleaning, firing, and china painting doll parts for her.  Dolls that she charged $1500/ea for and I made a measly $10 per body part <gripe>.  I miss some of these crafts, especially the doll making and the teddy design, but I fear that with my awful eyesight these days that I just couldn’t see well enough to get a product I’d be happy with.  I still hang onto the hope though and kept my biggest kiln just in case, lol, and I still have tons of stained glass supplies.  Some crafts that I would be interested in pursuing if I ever get the time: throwing pottery, oil painting or watercolors, glass bead making.  I also hope to get another spinning wheel cause I just miss it so.  Crafts have been an integral part of my life – I almost cannot imagine life without them or at least what my life would have been like without them.  They’ve helped me over most of life’s bumps and continue to keep the brain cells functioning and for that I am oh so grateful. 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

