One Sick Fiber Puppy

March 25, 2007 at 11:19 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

One sick fibery puppy, that’s me! Been spinning like mad on the Joy and all the while being pissed about the bobbin size when plying. I’m just not able to get a nice chunky skein on these (supposedly) 4 oz bobbins. Every since I got the Joy, I’ve been wondering if I shouldn’t have just sprung for the Majacraft Rose which was also a consideration at the time.   Started researching the Rose again, and continued to be impressed with her looks, the bobbin size, and the fact that you can purchase a plying set that includes the flyer and an 8 friggin’ ounce bobbin!  Off to ebay I went, and I just ordered one from CopperMoose.  She should be here within the next 10 days all the way from New Zealand.  Oh man, here’s hoping that I don’t want to take a weeks vacation to play on her when she gets here, lol. 

On the knitting front, I finished one sock of a pair from my handspun.  I need to get some of those sock blockers from Chappy for displaying socks, doncha think?

Handspun sock

This was knittedf plain vanilla 2K, 2P ribbing, with Woolly Nylon knit into the heel on size 2 Knitpicks needles.  The best toasty sock ever and I gotta get kicking on the other one.

This is my Cherry Tree Hill sock (notice I said sock, not socks – gotta get kicking on the other one also).  I love this colorway:

CTH sock

And some spinning.  Blue Bliss Corriedale from etsy spun as 3 ply worsted:
mvc-008s.JPG

I have another small skein drying and I hope to have this problem alleviated when the Rose comes.  All three of these little freaking skeins will now be one big honkin’ skein!

 Here are a couple of bobbins full of some more fiber from copperpot on etsy.  Reds, and chocolate, and sparklies: 
Copperpot red

And lastly, I had to buy some Paton’s SWS.  I’ve seen Lady Eleanor done in this yarn, and just loved all of the colorways.  I chose the pink/green colorway and am making the Midwest Moonlight scarf from Scarf Style:
mvc-009s.JPG

Is this the right side or the wrong side?  I need to mention that I’ve only been knitting for about a year.  I attempted this scarf about six months ago and ripped it cause I just didn’t know what the heck I was doing.  Made mistakes, and didn’t know how to fix them.  It has been very satisfying for me to get going on this scarf (though I did make one mistake, discovered too late, and I ain’t fixing it, lol) and feel comfortable knitting it.  This and my Forest Canopy handspun shawl represent hurdles that I have overcome.  Progress has been made in my knitting skills and for that I am extremely grateful! 

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi,

    Looking at your Midwest Moonlight scarf — answering your question — unless the first band is done in garter stitch (between the vertical blocks), then you have the wrong-side face-up in the photo.

    The whole project looks very pretty. Enjoy wearing it.

    Best to all,
    Em

    PS Please come visit my blog:
    “Everyone knows someone who needs this inofrmation!” (TM)
    http://diabetesdietdialogue.wordpress.com
    Learn for Prevention and for Sharing.

  2. Oooh, I don’t know anything about spinning, but your spinning projects look beautiful. Love those colors!

  3. Wow, you’ve sure been busy!! Personally I slobbered all over my keyboard when I saw the Blue Bliss Corriedale … mmmmmmmmmm 😉 Love the sockies too – I bet they’re super comfy! 😀


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

