Belated Happy Easter

April 9, 2007 at 8:20 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

mvc-018s.jpgmvc-017s.jpgmvc-015s.jpgAs I was updating with a new post on Saturday, WordPress decided to update, so all was lost.  Boo!  I was too busy cooking and eating yesterday, lol, so today we’re gonna go for it.  Got lots to tell.

My Majacraft Rose is still not here.  An email to Bill (coppermoose) revealed that it hasn’t been shipped yet.  Evidently the NZ folks are busy.  Here’s hoping that it goes out this week because I am just itching to have her in hand.  And I spent time yesterday researching carding machines!  I’ve been purchasing carded batts from etsy and just yearn to try my own blends of color and fiber.  Next post I’ll probably be telling you that I purchased a Strauch Petite which seems to be the one I keep coming back to during the research!

Last pic in the trio above is a Ballband washcloth from Mason-Dixon knitting. This one was a UFO that I just got around to picking back up and finishing. I love these warshrags!
Middle  pic is of some “Let’s Hang On” superwash merino from Crown Mountain Farms destined to be socks. This will be a three ply and shooting for fingering weight. We shall see!  I was trying to get fingering weight with the last pair, but ended up with a light sport weight when plyed.  I’m pretty sure that I’m getting finer singles this time around, so we’ll see what I arrive at when plying is done.  And it’s my first time spinning superwash which is a real hoot.  This stuff definitely needs more twist.

The top picture is a special piece of knitting. I’ve been hanging onto my first handspun for a year, just fondling it and comparing how far I’ve come spinning-wise. Not content to just let the skeins linger in my stash, I decided to put them to use in a neck cozy. The fiber is BFL, the patterns is a 65 stitch straight stockinette for 12 inches, and I dip dyed the finished piece for the color gradations.  I got this done in a day’s time.  I can’t tell you how pleased I am with how this turned out!! It lays gracefully on the neck, arranging itself into lovely folds that surround me with softness. The color came out beautifully and was exactly what I was shooting for. And it’s extra special because it’s made from my first handspun. I made another neck cozy with Berroco’s Hip Hop yarn which I would show you but Dad confiscated it yesterday. He also happened to ask for another done in hunter’s orange that he’ll wear when hunting. This pattern is stretchy enough to pull up over your head to wear like a cowl also, and he expects to be toasty warm out in the woods killing Bambi and Thumper.
I got sock blockers from Chappy – I chose the spinning wheel design, so my next sock pic will be the cat’s meow, lol. I’m finally getting around to working on the second sock from my handspun so mayhap you’ll see them on the blockers even though I’ve already showed you one.

 I’m off to enjoy my last day off from work – back to the grind tomorrow and let me tell you – grind it is.  If we go through another new process anytime soon, I’m gonna be ready for the nuthouse, lol.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That neckwarmer is beautiful! I love the way the color shifts like that. And I can’t believe that’s you’re first handspun, wow!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

