MY NEW WHEEL!!

April 23, 2007 at 5:53 pm | Posted in spinning | 4 Comments

Bet that caught your eye, huh?  New wheel – Majacraft Rose.  She is everything I hoped for and then some!  Just posted the Ashford Joy on ebay and hope to recoup most of my $ cause she’s only 2 months old.  I just can’t spin on those little bobbins anymore even though I love how she spins.

Rose

It took me an hour or two of spinning to get used to the double treadle. I was really leery of DT and perhaps initially postponed getting the Rose because of it. Pooh – I can spin on anything, lol.  I got the Plying set also.  Talk about a big honkin’ bobbin!!  Here’s a pic of my first spin on her:

luxury handspun

This was a 4oz luxury batt from Peculiar Ambitions with all kinds of goodies: merino, angora, cashmere, baby alpaca and silk. 2 ply with a strand of beaded silk thread plied in. 77 yards of worsted weight destined to become a neck warmer.

I decided to go to Maryland Sheep and Wool too! I called the Sheraton in Columbia, MD for a reservation for Saturday night and got in. I’ll leave home here in the morning, drop dead shopping at the festival, stay overnight, get up and drop dead shopping some more then head home. I took a vacation day from work on Monday so that I can recover, lol. It will be my first time at MDSW and I’m really looking forward to it.  I’ll be taking the camera so look for lots of pics when I recover!

I was just over at Crazy Aunt Purl’s blog.  She wrote a book!  It’s on Amazon!  And she kept it a secret!  Just ran over to Amazon and put it on my wish list.  I have Alden Amos’ spinning book on order, and might plop this into the same shipment.  She has a way with words, and an incredible sense of humor, so it’s certainly put to good use with the book.  I wish her luck and lots of “swimming nekkid in money”!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Now that is a great wheel! I’ve been eyeing the majacraft rose too. Great first skein!

  2. Adore the yarn with beaded silk!

    I’ll be curious to know how the Rose works for you. Especially its ability to handle/store more yarn.

  3. You will LOVE your Rose. I know I love mine and she really holds tons more then the Joy since I have a Joy too. I even got the Woolee Winder for the Joy and the Rose still holds tons more. The plying bobbin is the best to make huge skeins with no knots. Looking forward to tons more great spinning.

  4. I love Majacraft Wheels. I have the Saxony and Majacraft no longer sells the Saxony. They now create the Rose. Your wheel is beautiful! Check out all the new flyers they produce. I purchased a Suzi Pro from Loom N Essence in Sedona, Arizona and I love this wheel. I use it as my production wheel. Needless to say I do have a few wheels and love each and everyone of them but I always go back to Suzi. What I love about my supplier is I get all of the information I need about the new up and coming things produced by Majacraft. Oh, Majacraft has a newsletter. That was important for me because I always like a place I can ask questions. I worried about the drive band and getting a replacement if I need one but then I realized that they don’t break easily. You will enjoy your Rose for sure. Rowena Tank, Prescott, Arizona.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

