Told ya I’d be back

July 8, 2007 at 5:41 pm | Posted in spinning | 1 Comment

Lots of things to show and talk about.  WIPS – quite a few for me but I know not as many as some.    Less projects means I get to spend more time with each, resulting in more FO’s.    That’s my story and I’m sticking to it, lol.

Anyway, I started another Moonlight scarf.  I love this pattern.  I have a WIP of the same scarf done in Paton’s Soy but I’m not too pleased with the comfort factor of this fiber around my neck.  I suppose I’ll finish the Paton’s one, but since I love, love, love Malabrigo, I started one in my favorite color.  I’m adding some sparkly stuff in randomly.   Oh, yeah, this one isn’t quite as wide as the other.

mvc-011s.jpg

Next is a project that is an absolute obsession with me.  Note that I have no babies, my son better not have any babies (at least not yet) and I know only one person whose niece just had a little girl.  Guess who’s getting it???  I love this project and the Dream in Color yarn so much that I ordered full skeins of all the colors, as opposed to the kitted yarn for this first one.  More of these are in my future and will be stashed for future giftgiving.

mvc-010s.jpg

I got the kit from Lettuce Knit in case anyone wants to hook up with one, but I got the full skeins from Coldwater Cooperative online.

Next up is a quick and dirty scarf – totally cool to make but not necessarily cheap.  Made with Online Linie at $11.00/skein and the scarf calls for three skeins.  This will probably be gifted to my son’s girlfriend, but I see one in my future too, maybe in purple.

mvc-013s.jpg

Had enough yet?  No?  Okay, lots more to show.

Here are my Monkey socks.  Yep, had to jump on that bandwagon.  Done in STR Lucy colorway.  Little bit of pooling, but I like pooling.  This is the mediumweight which makes nice supercushy socks and I started the first sock on size 2 needles.  Did the cuff and probably one repeat when I decided that I wanted a closer tighter fabric so I switched to size 1.  Started the second sock on 1’s and even though the cuff is definitely a different size than the first sock, on the foot you can’t even tell.  I know, I know, I should have frogged the first sock, but you know what?  I’m not that much of a perfectionist, at least not where socks are concerned.

mvc-014s.jpg

And more socks completed just in time for the 4th of July:
mvc-015s.jpg

And lest we forget the handspun, here is a Spinner’s shawl and accompanying yarn.  The fiber is superwash merino, spun to a heavy sport weight, dyed with Cushing dye in Apricot with rust sprinkled on top while in the pot.  This is my best handspun to date.  I loved spinning the fiber and could have spun it till the cows came home.  The Spinner’s Shawl looks good no matter what kind of fiber you use, from laceweight to worsted, and I want one for the fall that is superwarm.  First the fiber:

mvc-017s.jpg

And here’s the what’s done on the shawl so far:

mvc-016s.jpg

More goodies to come in the near future including some stash purchases and more spinning goodness.

Long time no see and Ravelry invite!!

July 8, 2007 at 9:53 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Been debating whether or not to keep the blog which is why I haven’t posted in so long.  The issue has been lack of time, but I decided to try to keep it up as I really want/need to record my progresses (in a lot of areas). 

I never made it to MSW because of a brake problem with the car.  I’m determined that nothing will deter me next year, so I’ve already made a reservation at the Inn at Norwood. 

Got my Revelry invite this morning and have been over there for the past hour looking at the layout, etc. and am psyched.  I need to get a Flickr account so that I can start posting my stuff.

Got lots of cool things to show – things that I’ve completed or am working on.  Will come later today.  Off to work on the yard!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.