Sunny Sunday

August 10, 2008 at 12:06 pm | Posted in cross stitch | 6 Comments

Sorry that I haven’t blogged all week, but as mentioned in my last post, I knew I was going to have a very busy week.  Not as busy as intended however, because my brother cancelled this weekend and instead is coming next weekend.  That didn’t stop me from taking Thursday and Friday off, lol, so I got a bunch of reading and stitching done.  I spent a lot of time on the deck as the weather is just beautiful and cool enough to leave off the AC.  My kind of weather!  I finished Sacrifice by SJ Bolton and might start the Historian next.  Wanted to keep that for next week for my post op reading, but the dang thing is 600+ pages so I think I’ll have more than enough to keep me occupied through then. 

I finished block 4 on Sweet Treats and even pressed it for your viewing pleasure!  Pie is the next block, then Cake which should come this week from Mary Kathryn.  Still undecided on how I’m going to frame – with or without mats.  I think pink/green mats would look wonderful as would green/tan. 

 

I also started and finished Be A Witch by Shepherd’s Bush.  Ever since I saw Vonna’s finished pillow, I’ve been obsessed with this piece as I love Halloween decorating.  I’m normally a one-project-at-a-time gal, but this one broke my resolve.  It was a quick stitch too, took me less than two days.  I only used two of the Crescent Colors and substituted DMC for the rest.   It’s pictured with the fabric I purchased to make the pillow and I still need to get some black organdy ribbon and fiberfill.

Only seven more work days before my surgery!  Can’t wait to be off for two months, though I don’t think it’s going to be nice and quiet around here.  The contractor is pouring concrete hopefully tomorrow so by next week they’ll be in the thick of things, hammering and banging away.  Don’t think I’ll be sleeping in till 10:00 AM every day!  It will be nice, though, to sit on the deck and watch the progress.  I’ll have to take pics.

Damn TV cable is screwed up – has been for four days cause they were booked and can’t come till today.  I don’t get anything beyond channel 99 except for their freaking One Moment Please message box.  Excuse me – how about Four Days and Counting Please?  For $200.00 a month which is what I’m paying for internet, cable, and phone, I’m pretty pissed.  And nobody has mentioned a credit yet either which will be discussed with them tomorrow.  Supposed to be here between 12 PM and 4 PM and it’s 1 PM and no phone call that they’re coming yet.  Can you tell I’m impatient!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sweet Treats looks nice as does Be Witch !

  2. Thank you for mentioning Sacrifice. I’m always looking for new books to read and that one sounds good. I’ve read the first chapter of The Historian and really liked it. Didn’t get to continue with it as I had some library books that needed to be read & returned and haven’t picked it back up yet.

    Sweet Treats looks lovely. Either matting option sounds pretty. And Be a Witch is adorable. You’ve caused me to add it to my stitching list as I love Halloween themed cross stitch. Can’t wait to see it finished as the fabric you’ve chosen will really set everthing off.

  3. Sweet Treats are looking great. I can’t wait to see the pillow once it is finished. The stitching is very cool!

  4. No matter how many WiP pics I see of Sweet Threats, I’ll never get tired of it. I just finished my second block… probably will post an update tonight. Yours is looking lovely.

    I like your Be A Witch too. I seldom get to see a clear picture of SB finishes. The buttons give it a special touch. Look forward to seeing it all made up into a pillow with that fabric.

  5. Lookie there! You’ve already got yours done…mine will be soon, very soon! (I HOPE!)

  6. Great progress on your sweat treats! I think pink & green mats would look gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

