A Week of Drama

August 17, 2008 at 2:39 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Tuesday morning at work, I was travelling up the hallway at work to deliver some invoices to Missy, my coworker.  About half way there, I heard and felt a snapping noise in my knee.  I was unable to put any weight on it, and stood there clinging to the wall and moaning.  Becky and Kevin, a couple of other coworkers saw me and after we determined that I couldn’t walk, Kevin ran and got my chair and they wheeled me over to my desk.  I called my ortho dr. who told me to come in ASAP.  I was able to get to my car and get over there and the dr. ascertained that a piece of meniscus in my knee had broken away and gotten lodged where it wasn’t supposed to.  Needless to say, he put me off work until my scheduled surgery on Wednesday.  So I’ve been hobbling around, and even more so because I can’t take any meds this week, and let me tell ya, I never knew how good Celebrex was until I quit taking it for about 4 days.  OUCH.  And believe it or not, the knee I previously had surgery on in May, hurts almost as much as the other one.  It’s stiff and sore, I can’t go down the steps normally, and it aches unless I prop it up for awhile.  I’m suspecting that mechanically the dr. fixed what he could and what I’m experiencing are continued healing issues and some arthritis.  After this upcoming surgery is done, I think I’m going to get on MSM, glucosamine, chondrotin and see if that helps.

Good news is that because I was off work and sorta incapacitated I was able to finish Sweet Treats!!  Yay!  I’m going to stitch on the buttons tonight and hopefully I’ll be able to get to the frame shop tomorrow and pick out a frame and mats (yes, I decided to mat it). 

Country Cottage Needleworks - Sweet Treats - 28 ct. Vintage Lentil by Lakeside Linens and Crescent Threads

Country Cottage Needleworks - Sweet Treats - 28 ct. Vintage Lentil by Lakeside Linens and Crescent Threads

 

In addition, the contractors have started the addition and this is how far they are:

This is the view from my deck which is off of my living room.  The joists you see are suspended on concrete piers and the garage entrance is below the addition.  The concrete piers are creating a challenge for my son when getting his car in/out.  He has a supercharged Cobalt and the thing has no wheel radius for good turning.  Hopefully when this is done and the area in front of the addition is cleared of construction stuff, it’ll be easier.  In the meantime, this crew is not the neatest and I’m going to discuss this with George the contractor tomorrow morning.  Granted I have a gravel driveway, but that isn’t a reason to leave concrete chunks, wood chunks, nails, empty milk cartons from lunches, and cigarette butts all over the driveway.  The carpenter was cutting wood on the side of the driveway and left slivers, chunks of wood and sawdust everywhere.  I shouldn’t have to babysit these guys and spend an hour cleaning up after them when they leave, right?  I also need to emphasize that when this job is done, my driveway should look exactly as it did when they started. 

My brother came into town yesterday – haven’t seen him for a year and a half and we spent a wonderful day with him and my dad.  We rode out to Sam’s Club and bro bought my dad a flat screen LCD HDTV with wall mounts for his new room!  That should free up some space for him in his new room and we’re to be the happy recipients of his old TV, which is a damn sight better than the one that currently resides in our living room.  We came home to a dinner of stuffed cabbage (requested by bro), Italian bread, and Strawberry Pretzel Dessert.  Since my brother is back in Pa. we should see him more frequently and hopefully he’ll be able to make it back for a couple of days when dad’s room is done.  He says he might bring up his truck and his Harley which will make the son very happy indeed.

I called Stitching Bits and Bobs on Friday because I want my Murky Manor which I ordered on July 25th.  The holdup is the Picture This Plus fabric which still isn’t in.  I know Bobby has a statement on her site that there will be a wait for some fabrics, but damn, is it too much to ask to stock some of the popular hand dyed fabric so that it’s on hand to ship when people order?  I spoke to a great shop in Florida that I’ve dealt with before when I needed special fabric and lo and behold they happened to have a hunk of Dawn – they are my saviours!  The shop is The Stitch and Frame Shop and their service is superb.  They were the ones who had Lakeside Linens Vintage Lentil in stock for my Sweet Treats.   I ordered it and then called Bobby at SB&B to send all of my order except for the fabric (obviously) since I need to get this started now in order to have it on the wall for Halloween.  Hopefully everything I need will be here by Tuesday and I can get my threads and everything organized before surgery on Wednesday.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ow!!! Sorrie to hear about your knee. Hope it’s better. Take good care during your surgery on Wednesday.

    Congratulation on finishing Sweet Threats. I’m working on it still >.< On the halfway mark now that I’ve finished Tarts. Will update again soon.

    Thanx for recommending that shop. I’ll definitely check it out. Seems like they have cheaper prices for Lakeside Linens as compared to other shops I’ve seen. They just might be the reliable source I’ve been looking for for LL linens 😀

  2. Hi! I wanted to let you know that your other knee is hurting probably because it’s accommodating the injury from your other knee. Are you able to take over the counter anti-inflammatories? If so, I recommend Aleve, it has naproxen, which is an additional painkiller that normal ibuprofen doesn’t have.

    Also…I’ve had the same issues with Stitching Bits & Bobs, to the point that the ONE time I ordered from them, I vowed I would never do it again!! I live in Michigan, where their store is located, and it still took over a month to get a simple order! I’ve discovered Down Sunshine Lane…I made a huge order a few weeks ago, and I got it in 3 days!!

    Anyway, I hope you feel better soon!! Rest up and get stitching! :o)

  3. Yikes! That definitely sounds scary! Good luck with the surgery!

    Congratulations on finishing “Sweet Treats” – it looks lovely!

  4. Hi Carol, hope you are feeling better now. Take care.
    Your sweet treats are very lovely and beautifully stitched. I look forward to see it framed!

  5. Today, I went to the beach with my children.
    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said
    “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.”
    She placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

