Murky and EEK

September 14, 2008 at 11:20 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 9 Comments

First I want to say God Bless to those who are suffering the effects of Ike.  My thoughts and prayers are with you!

Finally a nice sunny day here after three days of rain though the rain was much needed.  My grass was starting to crunch when I walked on it, lol.  And it did make a mess outside where construction on the addition continues.  Do you know how messy these guys are???  Wood and nails and siding everywhere.  And I don’t have gutters/downspouts installed on it yet, so the overflow from the roof made watery ditches on the front and sides.  The insulation/plasterer guy is supposed to come this week and George says they move fast, so there is light at the end of the tunnel.

I’ve been sort of depressed and bored lately.  Not typically me and I know that my solution is to try to keep busy.  Especially when I’m thinking I need to go back to work!!!!!!!  Yesterday I made a batch of soap using an all veggie recipe that I haven’t made for awhile.  I remember that it’s a wonderful lathering recipe though the bars won’t be as hard and as long lasting as my tallow bars because of it being all veggie oils.  I scented it Lavender/Peppermint using essential oils as it’s my favorite.  Son asked for some manly scented soap so I ordered Gucci and Green Irish Tweed from my favorite online soaping supplier.  When they come in later this week (hopefully), I’ll make him some “manly” smelling soap.

I also made a batch of cookies yesterday – Oatmeal Scotchies!  Haven’t made those in a while either and they turned out scrumptious.  Today I’m going to stuff a chicken for dinner, so goodies abound.  Fall is in the air and I’ll be craving pumpkin pie soon.

I’m sure getting my fill of Halloween/Autumn stitching.  Barbara Ana Designs sent out a newsletter this week, offering 4 Halloween ornie designs for purchase at $1.00 ea.  I ordered all four and when received via email I immediately set to stitching this one that I turned into a floss ring tag:

Spider by Barbara Ana Designs

Spider by Barbara Ana Designs

It was difficult to choose which one to do right away because one was just as cute as the other.  There are witchs’s boots, a pumpkin, a spider, and witch’s brew.

And here’s my progress on Murky Manor by Glendon Place.  I’m totally enjoying stitching this.  The witch profile in the belfry is done one over one and even though I know it won’t be completed this year in time for Halloween, stitching it really puts me in the mood for fall.

Murky Manor by Glendon Place

Murky Manor by Glendon Place

 

I received my solo from Silkweaver which is as gorgeous as the pic.  No plans for it just yet but I’m sure I’ll find a use for it soon.  For now, it’s residing in the 10 gallon fabric stash basket, lol.  I also received my candles from www.candlestomydoor.com  and here’s the proof:

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Eek looks great and Murky Manor is coming along nicely.

  2. Love your spider floss tag…I’ve just signed up for the newsletter (wonder if I can still get those???)

    Murky manor is wonderfully spooky too, and look you’ve got one of those needle minders I’ve been drooling over!

  3. I love the floss tag! Very cute! I’m sorry you’re feeling down {{{Carol}}}}

  4. Wow, you’ve been busy! The soaps sound lucious, and so do the cookies. And I love your eEK and Murky Manor.

    I hope you’re feeling better soon. Don’t rush yourself back to work. And make those guys clean up after themselves!

  5. Love love LOVE your latest floss tag! That design is just gorgeous! – and I love the shaping at the top of the tag 🙂 You’ve been really busy stitching, ‘soaping’ and cooking … makes me dizzy just thinking about it, but at least it stops that boredom setting in 🙂

  6. Hi there. Thanks for visiting my blog. I had to laugh when I read your comment as Murky Manor is the chart I was talking about and the fabric that the order is waiting for is Dusk …

    I’m glad to see you have been able to start your Murky Manor. It looks great! You have some great stitching going on. It’s my first visit here, but I’ll be back :o)

  7. M.Manor is very neat! Luv the floss tag – I have to try one soon.

    Yeah, wasn’t all that rain the pitts???

    Enjoy the week-end, stitch well

  8. It’s lovely to *meet* you Carol! I’ve had a wonderful time wandering around your blog… you have some lovely stitchy finishes and WIP’s… 🙂

    Your Spider Floss Ring Tag is adorable and I love, love, love Murky Manor… It’s on my Wish List, however seeing yours makes me want to rush out and buy it, yesterday! 🙂 I can’t wait to see more…

    And I adore your SB’s Be Witch!!! Another I really must have and I really love the way you finished it… 🙂

    I’m sorry to read you’ve been feeling depressed… I hope you find solace in your stitching, family and friends… {{{Hugs}}}

    Can’t wait to see more of your lovely stitching… I’ll be back for another visit soon!

    Happy Stitching…

  9. Carol, I can’t find your e-mail addy…
    so e-mail me sometime so I can recapture it…
    The frame for Something Wicked I believe will be somewhere below $40.00
    They couldn’t give me an exact price at my LNS because they didn’t know yet…it was ordered yesterday though…so should have it soon. Couldn’t find one anywhere that looked as good as that will, I hope….


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

